Spring 2016 Anime

WARNING: May contain spoilers 🙂

My summer vacation is almost over, so before my classes start, let me write a personal post about the shows that I have watched so far. I spent my two-month vacation watching anime rather than reading academic materials for my course.

Yes, that’s right! Anyway, there were quite a few interesting anime series this spring, and I listed some of them below! (Note: These are the only ones that I have watched, so I can’t say that they are the best out of all the new shows released this season, but these are pretty popular (and really good), so I suggest you give them a try!

  1. Boku No Hero Academia (My Hero Academia (僕のヒーローアカデミア) is a superhero-themed manga written by Kōhei Horikoshi. Its anime adaptation began in April this year and is expected to have a total of 13 episodes. As of this writing, there are already ten episodes released, so it’s almost finished. The story revolves around a “quirkless”-middle school student, Izuku Midoriya, who wants to be a superhero in a world where almost 80% of the population has quirks or superpowers. Despite the constant bullying from his classmates, especially by his childhood friend Bakugou Katsuki, Midoriya continues to pursue his goal until he meets the number one superhero called All Might, whom he also admires. Izuku eventually passes and enters the prestigious U.A. High School, and from there, he gradually takes his first steps toward achieving his dream of becoming a superhero.
boku

©heroaca.com

When I watched the first episode, I couldn’t help but somehow compare it to One Punch Man. But later on, I realized that it wasn’t the case. Both stories are indeed about superheroes, but that’s just it. BnHA has its own distinct qualities that make it one of the hottest anime series this season! I didn’t think I would like it that much, but I got so hooked that I even decided to read the manga to get updated quickly. Sad to say, I finished reading the current 94 chapters in just two days 😦 Now I’m just waiting for both the new episodes and chapters! Studio Bones should already be preparing for a second season!

2. Koutetsujou no Kabaneri (Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress (甲鉄城のカバネリ) is produced by Wit Studio and is slated to have 12 episodes, with the first one airing in April. It is directed by Tetsurō Araki, who also happened to be the director of Attack on Titan (anime) under the same animation studio. This probably explains why there are quite a few similarities between the two series. People who are infected with an unknown virus are turned into zombie-like humans called “kabane,” which can only be killed if their hearts are pierced. To protect themselves, the citizens built stations where they could also get aboard armored locomotives that allowed them to be transported to other cities. Ikoma, the protagonist of the story, creates his own weapon that effectively defeats the monsters. However, he gets bitten by one of the Kabane when his city gets invaded by hordes of zombie-like creatures.

kv_2x_2

©kabaneri.com

This series is packed with action, and this really reminds me of AoT, with the characters trying to save themselves and the others from the villains. I am fond of watching horror/monster-themed shows, so this one suits my taste despite some bloody scenes. (They are not that cringeworthy, though, I think.) This anime was originally recommended to me by an acquaintance, but I wouldn’t have tried this right away had I not seen that Miyano Mamoru voices one of the characters there. (I mean, he’s my favorite seiyuu, so it’s a plus factor in convincing me to watch this ❤.)

3. Bungou Stray Dogs(Literary Stray Dogs 文豪ストレイドッグス) began its serialization in 2012 and is written and illustrated by Kafka Asagiri and Sango Harukawa, respectively. The anime adaptation is produced by Studio Bones, and the first episode aired in April this year. It is slated to have 12 episodes, and a second season is also expected to take place sometime in October. Ten episodes have been broadcast already, so it’s about to end soon. The characters’ names in this series are all taken from and inspired by real-life literary writers. Each possesses supernatural powers (which can also be associated with the authors they are named after). The story centers around Atsushi Nakajima, who joins the Armed Detective Agency after getting kicked out of the orphanage where he had been staying. There, he teams up with the agents in a fight against the Port Mafia members who are after him because of the powers he was unaware of. Mysteries are discovered, and new characters get introduced in almost every episode, so the level of interest rises as well. The character designs are good, and the genre is also my cup of tea. And yes, Miyano Mamoru also voices one of the main characters, Osamu Dazai, whose quirky personality will surely capture everyone’s heart.

main

©bungo-stray-dogs.jp

4. Tanaka-kun wa Itsumo Kedaruge (Tanaka-kun is Always Listless 田中くんはいつもけだるげ)

comic_05-5_jk

©tanakakun.tv/comic

This anime adaptation by Silver Link Studio began in April, and the series is just three episodes away from its finale. Aside from its 12-episode anime, Silver Link also releases a set of special episodes simultaneously. There are currently 21 shorts released as of this moment. It’s called Tanaka-kun wa Kyou mo Kedaruge, and each part runs for less than a minute. The anime stays true to its genre: a slice of life mixed with comedy. Though some viewers may find it somewhat boring, it’s actually quite relaxing for me. Perhaps it’s because I can relate to the character of Tanaka, whose listlessness awakens my inner languidness LOL. The plot is straightforward: Tanaka is listless. That’s just it. Somehow, he manages to be friends with the energetic and oh-so-reliable student named Ohta, who seems like his knight in shining armor. It’s strangely comedic, and more often than not, the scenes reflect the ordinary life of a student (or not). Sometimes, this anime will leave you questioning your own listlessness. But then again, no one can probably surpass Tanaka-kun in that area. And did I mention that I also read its manga?

tumblr_o73deorvtu1txilj3o2_250

We’re all just like Tanaka. 

5. Sakamoto Desu Ga?(Haven’t You Heard? I’m Sakamoto 坂本ですが?) Cool? Cooler? Coolest? Well, that’s who Sakamoto is. This manga created by Nami Sano is adapted into a 13-episode anime by Studio Deen. The story is about a high school student named Sakamoto, who is deemed the “coolest” guy in their school. Girls instantly fall in love with him, while boys envy him. His incomparable talents, wits, good looks, and popularity make him the usual target of pranks and bullying from people who instantly see him as a rival or enemy.

sd065

©www.tbs.co.jp

I find the comedic element a bit absurd to the point that I sometimes question myself why I continue watching this. Perhaps it’s just another way to pass the time, but nevertheless, it’s worth giving a try, but don’t expect too much from it. I can somehow compare it to The Daily Lives of High School Boys, where some scenes will just make you go…

episode_18_by_otakubishounen-d8hrmc8

Well, Sakamoto is still fabulous. Ridiculously fabulous.

Yosh! There you have it! Those are the five anime series that I’ve been watching these days. Of course, there are still a lot more anime this season that are still ongoing, and new ones will always come out any time soon. Aside from those five above-mentioned series, I’m also planning to watch the following:

  • Kiznaiver
  • Sousei no Onmyouji
  • Joker Game
  • Mayoiga

I heard some good feedback from other viewers about them, so I might give them a try soon!

About otakubishounen

A frustrated writer and artist. Loves Kpop and Japanese anime/manga.

Leave a comment